• 260.665.9865
  • 24/7 Emergency 260.316.6648
  • 8119 W 150 N, Angola, IN, 46703


SLRWD Earns 2017 IWEA Laboratory Excellence Award

The Steuben Lakes Regional Waste District has earned the 2017 IWEA Laboratory Excellence Award. The Laboratory Excellence Award is awarded for outstanding achievement in the implementation of laboratory technique and administration. Leslie Brown the laboratory technician for District did an outstanding job making certain the laboratory records and equipment met all of the requirements of the Laboratory Excellence Award. The District also earned the Safety Excellence Award of Merit for 2017. This is the seventh consecutive year the District has earned the Safety Excellence Award from the IWEA. Excellence in Safety Award gives recognition to all plants which grade high in merit points. Safety experience of each plant is compiled by the committee. Awards are based on merit points and by accident experience of each plant recorded by the plant superintendent on the year-end safety report. This year the District received the more elusive George W. Burke, Jr. Award awarded by the Water Environment Federation. This award encourages active and effective safety programs in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities. The award was established in honor of George W. Burke, Jr. who was instrumental in developing WEF’s annual safety survey. The documented and illustrated safety program and safety record of the facility for the preceding calendar year are the primary criteria for the award. The facility shall have an effective safety program as demonstrated by its injury/fatality rates and the facility shall have a designated safety official. Bruce Deters accepted both Safety Awards on behalf of all the employees of the District. The entire SLRWD staff makes every effort as a Team to achieve excellence in all areas of the administration, operations and maintenance of the District. The District is very proud of the Staff’s dedication to excellence!
Angola Area Chamber of Commerce
National Rural Water Association
Indiana Regional Sewer District Association
Indiana Rural Water Alliance
Orland Chamber